top of page

Feeling a little Heartless in the New Year

Hey everyone!

I bet (well, hope) that you've been wondering where I've been!

Well, things were a bit hectic last year. I bought a house, got engaged, and read until my eyes bled! (Okay, they didn't bleed. But I did read over 60 books last year!).

So, let's start off this new year with an amazing book (that I managed to read in two days): Heartless by Marissa Meyer.

In a Sentence: The Queen of Hearts used to bake some tarts....before falling in love, fighting a monster, and succumbing to her fate.

SYNOPSIS: Cath, daughter of the nobility of Hearts, wants nothing more in the world than to open a bakery with her best friend (and maid) Mary Anne. These dreams get pushed aside when the King of Hearts shows interest in Cath as a future queen, and the new court joker, Jest, sweeps into her life. What will Cath choose? As a Jabberwock runs amok in Hearts, Cath has to face the toughest decision of her life: Do what is expected, or rush off into the unknown.

Corresponding Song: Peasant's Promise by Blackmore's Night

THOUGHTS: Oh. My. Goodness. It's been a while since I read a book that I absolutely couldn't put down, but Heartless kept me stuck to the pages. Looking for actions? Check. Believable romance? Check. Laugh-out-loud moments that startle your dogs when you can't stop giggling? Double check.

I love Marissa Meyer's Cinder and the Lunar Chronicles, but it was really nice to see her go in a new(ish) direction. Heartless is the backstory of Catherine, who becomes the infamous Queen of Hearts from Lewis Carrol's Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. Ms. Meyer not only incorporates character ties (Mary Anne, the white rabbit's housemaid, is given a backstory as well, as is the Mock Turtle), but also shows how the worlds in Alice's adventures in Wonderland relate to her travels in the Looking Glass.

I will say this: Heartless, for all the laughter and joy it brings, also has a very, very dark ending. The last 50 pages left me breathless, numb, and probably more than a little upset. I know this was intentional (and I wouldn't change it for anything!) but the story does take a very, very sharp turn. So be prepared!

FINAL COMMENTS: Come on. Read it. This book will appeal to anyone who enjoys fantasy, whimsy, YA, and fairy tale re-tellings. Ms. Meyer's writing style flows easily, and the story doesn't meander or wander too far before she brings it back to task. Overall, this was a great story to start off the year and I can't wait to see what else 2017 brings to my bookshelf!


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page